The Lay of the Last Minstrel- Sir Walter Scott

bookCoverFor

Beskrivning

A medieval musician is wandering through the Scottish borders, seeking hospitality at Newark Castle which is where the story is told: the ‘Flower of Teviot’.

The minstrel recounts a love story between Lady Margaret Scott of Buccleuch and Baron Henry of Cranstoun. He is an ally of the Ker Clan. However, unfortunately, a serious feud subsists between the two border clans of Scott and Carr/Ker, which has resulted in the recent murder of Lady Margaret's father. This is causing Margaret’s mother to be fervently against the union of the two lovers. Margaret’s mother even swears that Margaret shall never wed a foe of the family, no matter what the spirits might say. Will their love be able to withstand the feuds between two families, or will Margaret’s mother keep them apart?

‘The Lay of the Last Minstrel’ is a beautifully written poem by the famous English author sir Walter Scott. Perfect for fans of ‘The Boatman’s Wife’ by Noelle Harrison and Stephen Fry’s ‘Mythos'.

Sir Walter Scott (1771-1832) was a Scottish writer, poet, and historian. He is often considered both the inventor and the greatest practitioner of the historical novel, including tales of gallantry, romance and chivalry. He wrote numerous well-known historical novels and poems including "Waverley," "Rob Roy," and "Ivanhoe," which have inspired countless authors ever since.
Författare:
Format:
E-bok
Sidor e-bok:
270
Språk:
Engelska
Utgiven:
2021-11-02
Förlag e-bok:
Saga Egmont
ISBN e-bok:
9788726553642

© Saga Egmont (E-bok)